Bayelsa state is a multi-ethnic state in the Southern Niger-Delta region of Nigeria. The state was created on 1st October 1996 from part of Rivers state. From the emergence of Democracy in Nigeria in 1999, six governors have governed the state hitherto, namely, Diepreye Alamieyeseigha, Goodluck Jonathan, Timipre Silva, Werinipre Sabarngo, Nestor Binabo, and Seriake Dickson (incumbent). The ‘Glory of all Lands’ has one of the largest crude oil and natural gas deposits in Nigeria.

Off to the political ambience of the state, the gubernatorial election held in 2011 produced Seriake Dickson as the state governor, and was re-elected for a second term in 2015. Four years down the line, the political cloud is gathering again in Bayelsa, as the state is ready to go to the polls to elect a new governor for the next political dispensation in the state.

In view of this, the Bayelsa EPL Summit, will provide a platform for leading aspirants and the electorates to discuss development and political leadership-related issues on the front burner of the state, among others. Besides, the aspirants would also harness the platform to engage the electorates on the strategies and the manifestos they would deploy to solve the lingering challenges in the state.

This is in furtherance of our vision to work with the citizens in making good choices that will place the state on the threshold of quality human and societal development. Just like previous EPL Summit, this will also host private and public sector stakeholders, public influencers, experts, socio-political group heads, etc.